5th Danilith Nokere Koerse WE

Lotte Kopecky supreme!

Team SD Worx-Protime seemed to have the best cards in advance, with absolute top riders such as Lotte Kopecky and Lorena Wiebes in their ranks. A sprint with the fast Wiebes on Nokereberg was among the options, but Kopecky seemed to think otherwise... .

The race had a nervous early phase, with few attack attempts and a few crashes, with the favourites not spared either. Lotte Kopecky - herself uninjured after an unfortunate encounter with the asphalt - thought it was soon enough and decided to shake the tree for the first time at 75 kilometres from the line.

Soon she proved to be the strongest woman in the race and was off for a long solo. 15 kilometres later, she therefore wisely decided to let herself catch up again. A little later, she then saw the ideal moment and, with an acceleration on the Lange Ast, ensured the separation of an elite group.

However, Lorena Wiebes, Lily Williams and Arlenis Sierra soon had to acknowledge their superiority to Kopecky and saw her ride away for good at 7 kilometres from the line. For the second year in a row, Lotte Kopecky thus showed her class and arrived solo at Nokereberg. After sprinting for the remaining podium places, Wiebes completed the one-two for Team SD Worx-Protime. Lily Williams (Human Powered Health) was allowed to join the podium in third.

Thanks to her early attack, Lotte Kopecky also got to take the CAPS Mountain prize.